Technical NOTES

Pre grouping (up to 1923)

NBR - North British Railway (LNER)
GER - Great Eastern Railway (LNER) 
GNR - Great Northern Railway (LNER) 
LNWR - London and North Western Railway (LMS) 
FR - Furness railway (LMS) 
LYR - Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway (LMS) 
CR - Caledonian Railway (LMS) 
Midland Railway (LMS) 
LBSCR - London, Brighton and South Coast Railway (SR) 
LSWR - London and South Western Railway (SR) 
SECR - South Eastern and Chatham Railway (SR) 
GWR - Great Western Railway

Post grouping (1923-48): the "Big Four"

LNER - London and North Eastern Railway 
LMS - London, Midland and Scottish Railway 
GWR - Great Western Railway 
SR - Southern Railway

Nationalisation (1948-1995)

BR British Railways, British Rail (from 1968) 
Regions corresponded to the old Big Four: 
Eastern Region 
London Midland Region 
Western Region 
Southern Region 
Scottish Region

Engine Workshops

Doncaster (GNR – LNER) 
St Rollox Glasgow (CR – LMS) 
Crewe (LNWR – LMS) 
Derby (Midland – LMS) 
Horwich (LYR – LMS) 
Swindon (GWR) 
Brighton (LBSCR - SR) 
Eastleigh (LSWR -SR)

London Termini

King’s Cross (GNR - LNER) 
St Pancras (Midland Railway - LMS) 
Euston (LNWR - LMS) 
Paddington (GWR) 
Victoria (LBSCR - SR) 
Waterloo (LSWR - SR)